Science Intelligence and InfoPros

Little things about Scientitic Watch and Information Professionnals

Scopus: “I need it to do my research!”

leave a comment »

A former student who enjoyed Scopus in her university claims  for a personal subscription model.

I didn’t know what I had till it was gone. During my PhD at the University of Pittsburgh, I had access to the Scopus database of citation data. I proceeded to use it for various citation analyses. I graduated and moved on, swapping that university affiliation for a collection of at least five others. None of these has access to Scopus. I miss it! I need it to do my research! (…)

Dear Scopus, you know what would make this a lot easier? The ability to buy a personal subscription. I’d buy one. I have money for that. Unfortunately, you only offer access through institutional subscriptions. I’ve talked to librarians at many of my institutions, and they aren’t keen to buy an institutional Scopus subscription… they view it as an upstart “European” also-ran to ISI Web of Science. You and I both know that isn’t true, but it is a really steep hill for me to climb to convince them, as an individual postdoc researcher. Let me have a free personal trial, let me buy a personal subscription.”

Piwowar, Heather. Scopus is better than ISI Web of Science for bulk article-level metrics. Research Remix, Online. Posted on May 8, 2011.
http://researchremix.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/scopus-vs-isi/

Written by hbasset

May 9, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Posted in literature

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

