Science Intelligence and InfoPros

Little things about Scientitic Watch and Information Professionnals

Some risks with free cloud services

leave a comment »

A ‘more or less” funny experience from a geek.

 

I am a big fan of cloud services. I’ve been migrating more and more of my local services to the cloud. (…)

I also like moving to the cloud because I tend to access my information from a lot of different locations and computers. I work in my main office, my den, my living room, on my tablet, on my laptop, in the studio, in the garage, and so forth. Keeping all my data synchronized on all those machines gets old after a while. (…)

But cloud services have their failings, as well. And I’m not talking about the usual crashes and cyberattacks. 

No, sometimes the service just goes away.

Google users are familiar with the phenomenon. Loyal users of Google Health were disappointed last November when the service was shut down. Del.icio.us users almost lost their minds when it appeared the service was being shuttered by Yahoo, only to have it bought up at the last minute. (…)

And then the author tells how his wife has been disappointed recently loosing a  favorite list management software…

as a conclusion,

Does that mean I’m going to stop using cloud services? Heck no. But I do intend to at least check into the business model of the services I’m using. If it looks like there’s no way it’ll make any money and be a cost drain, I probably will do my best to, at the very least, keep backups, reports, or dumps of any of the data I entrust to the cloud provider.

The silver lining in this tale? Forewarned is forearmed. Now you know you need to be sure you can get your data out before the cloud services dissipate.

Gewirtz, David. The curse of free cloud services: a cautionary tale. ZD Net, May 24, 2012. Available from: http://www.zdnet.com/blog/diy-it/the-curse-of-free-cloud-services-a-cautionary-tale/590?tag=nl.e539 [Accessed 24th of May 2012]

 

 

 

Written by hbasset

May 24, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Posted in Web 3.0

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

